This article describes the features of Shared Drive (formerly Team Drive) in Google Workspace, the access levels and the comparison between Shared Drive and My Drive.

What Is Shared Drive in Google Workspace?

The Shared Drive in Google Drive can be used to store, search and access files in a team. The files in Shared Drive belong to the team and not to an individual. Even if members leave the team, the files are preserved, so your team can continue to share information and work anywhere, from any device.

Main Features

Create a shared drive for your projects or team to share information and work. Please refer to the table below for the available features.

Feature Description
Find files and folders after an employee leaves Your organization owns the files in a shared drive, not an individual. When an employee leaves and an admin deletes their account, their files remain in shared drives.
Improved sharing rules All members of a shared drive see the same content.
Content discoverability Adding a user to a group in Google Groups automatically adds them to all the shared drives that include that group.
Add external users to shared drives You can add users outside of your organization to a shared drive. If you do:
  • The shared drive appears in the external user’s Google Drive.
  • Any work an external user contributes (for example, edits to, creating, or uploading a file) is transferred to and owned by the domain that created the shared drive.
  • The external user must have a Google Account and be signed in to Drive.
Synchronize content on your desktop Users can access their shared drives on their computer using Google Drive for desktop. For details on setting it up for your organization, go to Deploy Drive for desktop.

Reference: https://support.google.com/a/answer/7212025

When to Create a New Shared Drive?

Please refer to the following points to confirm the needs before creating a shared drive.

  • Are the files of interest to most or all members of a particular project team?
  • Do the files share a consistent theme?

If the above criteria are met, it is a good idea to create a new shared drive. If the files are for a large number of projects, you should create multiple shared drives. As the number of projects and teams increases, it can become difficult to find and manage content in a single shared drive.

Google Workspace Edition with Shared Drive

Edition Shared Drive
Business Starter X
Business Standard V
Business Plus V
Enterprise Essentials V
Enterprise Standard V
Enterprise Plus V

Shared Drive is only available in Business Standard, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus.

Shared Drive Access Levels

  Manager Content manager* Contributor** Commenter Viewer
View shared drives, files, and folders V V V V V
Comment on files in shared drives V V V V X
Make, approve, and reject edits in files V V V X X
Create and upload files and create folders in shared drives V V V X X
Add people and groups to specific files in shared drives V V V X X
Add people and groups to specific folders in shared drives V X X X X
Move files and folders from a shared drive to My Drive V V X X X
Move files and folders within a shared drive V X X X X
Move files and folders from one shared drive to another shared drive V V X X X
Move shared drive files and folders into the trash V X X X X
Permanently delete files and folders in the trash V V V X X
Restore files and folders from trash (up to 30 days) V X X X X
View shared drives, files, and folders V X X X X
Comment on files in shared drives V X X X X

* Default role for a new member.
**When you grant Contributor access to users, they have read-only access to files in Google Drive for Desktop or files in the Chrome app OS files. To allow users to edit files in a shared drive in Drive for desktop and Chrome OS, give the user Content Manager access to the shared drive
Reference: https://support.google.com/a/answer/7337554

Comparison Between Shared Drive and My Drive

What is the difference between my Drive and Shared Drive? The following table summarizes the differences between the two:

  Shared Drive My Drive
What types of files can you add? All file types except files from Google Maps All file types
Who owns files and folders? Your organization The individual who created the file or folder
Can I move files and folders onto a drive? Users can only move files.
Administrators can move files and folders.
Yes
Can I move files and folders within a drive? Yes, if you have Manager or Content Manager access.

Note: Only Managers can move files and folders between shared drives.
Yes
Can I sync files to my computer? With Drive for desktop: Yes
With Backup and Sync: No
Yes
How does sharing work? All team members see the same file set. Different users might see different files in a folder, depending on their access to individual files.
How long do deleted files stay in Trash?
  • Each shared drive has its trash.
  • After 30 days, files and folders in Trash are deleted forever.
  • Members can delete specific files sooner.
After 30 days, files and folders in Trash are deleted forever.
Can I restore files from the trash? Yes, if you have Manager, Content manager, or Contributor access. Yes, if you created it.

Reference: https://support.google.com/a/answer/7212025

Benefits of Shared Drive

What are the benefits of using Shared Drive? The above-mentioned comparison tables are summarized below for description.

Easier Management by Using Access Levels

Users can be assigned access levels to access folders in Shared Drive, which is easier to manage compared to My Drive. Now you do not have to grant file permissions individually!

Reduce the Hassle When Employees Resign

If an employee resigns and the file is owned by the employee’s My Drive, the employee must transfer file permissions before leaving. However, if a shared drive is used, ownership of the files belongs to the company and it is not necessary to transfer file permissions specifically, even if an employee leaves.

Shared Drive Limits

There are limits to the number of items, members, and daily uploads you can have in shared drives.

Maximum Items

A shared drive can contain a maximum of 400,000 items, including files, folders, and shortcuts.

Maximum Daily Uploads

Individual users can only upload 750 GB per day between My Drive and all shared drives. Users who reach the 750 GB limit or upload a file larger than 750 GB will not be able to upload any more files that day. Ongoing uploads will be completed. The maximum individual file size that you can upload or sync is 5 TB.

File Sharing Limits

A given file within a shared drive can be directly shared with a maximum of 100 groups.

Folder Limits

A folder in a shared drive can support up to 20 levels of nested folders. However, it is not advisable to create a large number of folders in a shared drive. Users may have difficulty organizing and finding the content. Instead, you can organize content in multiple shared drives.

User Limits

You can add users and groups in Google Groups to a shared drive. If you add a user who is a member of multiple groups that are members of the shared drive, the user only counts as one member.

How to Avoid Exceeding Limits?

There are some limitations to using Shared Drive. The following explains how you can avoid these limitations.

Use Google Groups for Team Members

Large organizations should manage membership using Google Groups instead of adding individual users.

Empty the Trash for Shared Drive

Items that are not permanently deleted from the shared drive’s trash still count toward the limits for the shared drive.

Use Shared Drive for Specific Projects

Make sure shared drives are organized for projects and teams instead of general-purpose file storage.

Make Optimum Use of Shared Drive

Shared Drive is only available in Google Workspace Business Standard or higher edition. You can manage files more efficiently by understanding the use of access levels and restrictions. To learn more about Shared Drive, please contact our specialist.

               

Get started on your free trial!

If you're interested in using Google Workspace

Schedule for Consultation

We provide solution consultation and support for our products.

Apply for Free Trial

Explore the features before starting the paid subscription.

3163 2520  (Weekdays: 09:00-17:00)